Eviction

Status
Not open for further replies.

xlatinonuevox

To whom it may concern:

My girlfriend and I have been staying in an apartment for approximately six months. For the past six months, we have had problems with mold in our apartment on five different occasions. The management of the apartments has shown no effort to take care of the problem besides offering us a new apartment after we put in our sixty-day notice. Also, the maintenance has not been able to resolve our mold problem.
My girlfriend and I signed the lease to our apartment on June 9th, 2008. After completely moving into the apartment, I noticed a leak in the toilet and under the sink which maintenance fixed right away. I expected minor problems like this to occur. But, I was very surprised when I noticed mold on the bathroom wall on June 29th, 2008. Additionally, the next day, I spotted mold in the walk-in closet and on some of our wood bedroom furniture. I called the office to put in a work order for the mold.
After two weeks of calling the office and finally making a visit to talk to the assistant manager, the manager of maintenance came to the apartment at last. Even though we had asked for a new apartment, the assistant manager claimed that there was nothing available for us to move into and that we should wait to see if maintenance could fix our problem. So, after examining our apartment, the maintenance manager said that the mold was only on the surface and sprayed a treatment to kill the mold. My girlfriend and I had to be out of the apartment while the manager of maintenance did this, and when we returned, the mold appeared to be gone.