First attempt at getting Garnishment Failed

Status
Not open for further replies.

free1ancer

My jurisdiction is: Gunnison County, Colorado

First attempt at getting Garnishment Failed;

Small Claims Court case: I'm a freelance graphic designer who created custom artwork for labels and packaging for small brewery. The brewery owner (let's say John Doe for reference) kept promising to pay for the work and never did. The work totaling $2271 between two invoices. I took John to small claims court April 24, 2008 and won the judgment against him 'personally'.

Since then the brewery has moved out of the building it was renting and John Doe doesn't have the business running. I have spoke with him once only just before the trial he said he didn't have any money and he was going to sell off the brewery's equipment in which he would be able to pay me. He also said that he had all the real estate he owns on the market for sale and if anything sold he would be able to pay me. He lives in a 1.6 million dollar house and has two parcels of land one b/c of it's location is probably worth more than the other.

Side Note: Things I know about John Doe. He has sold off brewery equipment to other local business owners. He lives in a 1.6 million dollar home in a ski resort town. His wife drives a $50,000 SUV and looks like she's had some work done on her. John doesn't work, beyond coaching the high school basketball team. John is retired from years working at Sprint in Texas. He lives a posh life.

I have filed a Motion and Order for Interrogatories in which John did not fill out the form in the 10 days time period. Two weeks later I file an Order and Citation for Contempt which the judge granted and set a court date. Then a couple weeks later John sent me the Interrogatories filed out. I canceled the court date for the Citation for Contempt.

In the Interrogatories John lists four bank accounts at one local bank and his three properties. No job.