Consumer Law, Warranties Contract Stipulates Arbitration

Status
Not open for further replies.

rkopplin

I am an architect and have a contract with the owner using the AIA B141 - Standard Form of Agreement Between the Owner and Architect. Article 7 of the contract specifically stipulates that "Claims, disputes or other matters in question between the parties to this Agreement or breach thereof shall be subject to and decided by arbitration in accordance with the Construction Industry Arbitration Rules of the American Arbitration Association...."

The owner has filed suit against the contractor and named me party to the suit. I have been ordered to prepare a written response to the court.

Shouldn't I just point out this article in the contract and not get involved in a detailed response to the suit at this point?

Randy Kopplin

The document I received is:

CITATION FOR PERSONAL APPEARANCE

filed in the District Court of Polk County, TX

first paragraph says:

NOTICE TO DEFENDENT:
YOU HAVE BEEN SUED. YOU MAY EMPLOY AN ATTORNEY. IF YOU OR YOUR ATTORNEY DO NOT FILE A WRITTEN ANSWER WITH THE CLERK WHO ISSUED THIS CITATION BY 10:00 AM ON THE MONDAY NEXT FOLLOWING THE EXPIRATION OF TWENTY DAYS AFTER YOU WERE SERVED THIS CITATION AND PETITION, A DEFLAUT JUDGMENT MAY BE TAKEN AGAINST YOU.

You may wish to enter several defenses and you might want to have an attorney draft a simple answer. There are a couple of things I'll point out knowing the little I do and without the benefit of seeing the contract.

1) You would want the court to dismiss the case, your defense being improper forum. The contract states that any disputes will be settled in arbitration, not in court.

2) You may not want to make an "appearance" for various reasons based upon a consultation with your attorney. You may not be subject to the power of that particular court. An appearance means that you consent to the jurisdiction of the court and you can contest jurisdiction.