landlord harassment and security deposit issue - Hawaii

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdemott

Aloha-
I was renting a room from a person with a lot of issues. When I tried to discuss issues she would yell at me. When I finally gave her my month notice she cried and flipped out. Her behavior became hostile. She began coming into my room and yelling at me, calling me names, awful things. This happened for 3 days. I found a place to stay for a few days and I brought someone to the house to be there when I got some things. She came in my room and began yelling at me again and my boyfriend closed the door on her. She pounded on it, screaming. I decided to get as much out as I could. She continued to yell and threaten that she would make my name "dirt" in the community. I am a teacher in a small community and it is important that I am respected. She called me demanding the keys the next day - which would have been the day I would have paid rent (prorated) for the rest of the month. I have a recording of her on my phone demanding the keys on this day.

That is the background. I gave her the keys and she refused to give me my deposit saying I owed her for the rest of the month. I sent her legal letters and ultimately filed with small claims court. She countered with rediculous accusations about damages (we had a verbal lease and I had cleaned and painted when I moved in with no walk through) She offered to settle for half of what she owes me.

LL came to my school, she has kids in the lower school, and found me in the upper school locker area where I was on duty. She began yelling at me and I told her she needed to go to the office and then just walked away to the office. She called my Head Master. I found out today that she spoke with a board member about me and he came to my principal. I believe she is slandering me to my employer.