Academic Fraud Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicesuper

I am a first year part-time student of common law section of one law school. One professor of that law school who teaches ADR course brought an academic fraud allegation against me. The allegation indicates that I copied legal principles without giving citations in a legal memo assignment I submitted for that course from assigned reading for this exercise.

I attended the hearing held by the committee of inquiry appointed by that law school pertaining to the allegation. During the hearing, I explained the reasons why I copied directly from the reading material assigned by the professor for the legal memo assignment in question. I honestly believed that by doing so, I was fulfilling the assignment requirement otherwise I would not have copied the legal principles from the reading material the professor assigned to us for the assignment. Although the committee of inquiry has accepted that I made an innocent mistake about the legal memo assignment, it recommended the sanction of zero mark for the memo itself because the committee's understanding is that it has no discretion to recommend anything short of one of the sanctions listed in that university's regulation. This recommendation has been upheld by the Executive Committee of that law school. Although this sanction is the mildest one according to the academic fraud regulation, I think it is very harsh on me given that it is an honest and innocent mistake. My mistake is explained by the confusion concerning the expectations and instructions of that course's professor and by the fact that I am a first year law school student from another country who is still learning to adapt to the North American education system.