please help is my employer wrong!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ngriff86

I have been working for my employer for eight months. I have always been a great employee with many customer appreciation letters and I was never late and always worked my scheduled shift.

My son goes to his fathers every weekend. Well one sunday when he retured he informed me that he was getting sexurally abused while on visits. I rused him to the nearest hospital. The next monday I called my supervisor and briefly described to her the situation and asked he was there anyway possible I could be scheduled off the following thursady because I had to be in court. She told me she had to speak with HR.

She called back and said it could not be approved because I had no time and the reason I was going to court was similar to a divorce and its considered personal.

I returned to work on Wednesday and My supervisor told me that if i take off on thursday it would result in a verbal warning which i did not want because i was trying to be promoted. We have an open door policy so i went over her to the HR manager. She also told me i could not be off. I then asked her could i take a leave of absence. She said no because the only 2 that were available where short term disability and fmla and i did not qualify for either.

After i left her office i went to the handbook and found a personal leave of absence, and so i returned to her office and showed her. She then replied you are not going to get approved for it. I asked he why and she said she has only approved to and they were very sick. I then asked her how do i apply.

Shortly after I applied she wrote me an email saying she needed supporting documentation before she could move any further in the process. I called DHS who was working with me on my case and they tried everything to get her information but she kept saying she did not recieve it.