I need subpoena for college records, help please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

CSUstudent

I am a (former CSU Long Beach) student. I have received a improperly low GPA. I found out about this after I graduated and looked at the GPA they calculated for me. Anyway, I filled a "petition for exception to academic policy" -- some procedure they made up (it's not authorized anywhere, but they can undertake any procedures they like at the university it seems). The petition was (predictably) denied. But there were other issues too, and other petitions I'd have to make, (because they refuse to address but one issue per petition, but they would not even accept the petition) and threw them back at me, stating that the petitions are automatically denied because I had "already graduated." (I wasn't even allowed to file them.) They claim that there is a policy not to make any changes to a student's academic record after they have graduated, no matter how soon after. (Actually, there is no such "policy" written down anywhere, but I don't know if that matters -- you'd think it would.)

So my only recourse is that I had to file a "Petition for Writ of Mandate" in the superior court, and that is where I am right now. PLEASE NOTE; I am challenging their "policies" not their discretion, per se. So this is an "ORDINARY MANDAMUS" proceeding. (Also, because it was determined that there was no "hearing" offered to me, for this reason also this had been determined to be a proceeding in "ordinary mandamus.")