Ask a Legal Question
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... Last

Thanks

What's a "Motion For Discovery" look like?

Good afternoon. I am trying to fight a Massachusetts speeding ticket that I know is false and I have heard that it is my right to ask for all evidence related to the case (i.e: the officer's paperwork, notes, video from the cruiser, etc...). To get this information I have learned that I need to file a Motion For Discovery. But I'm not a lawyer and I cannot find any resources that show me what a "Motion For Discovery" looks like. Is it a form? Is it a letter? I have know idea. Can anyone provide an example of this form/letter or a link to such information. Thanks.

2. Registered User Esteemed Colleague
    Thanks
    (Cause No.)

THE STATE OF TEXAS § IN THE COUNTY CRIMINAL
    §
    VS. § COURT NO OF
    §
    (DEFENDANT'S NAME) § DALLAS COUNTY, TEXAS

MOTION FOR DISCOVERY

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGE OF SAID COURT:

NOW COMES the Defendant, (Defendant's Name), and moves the Court, under the authority of Art. 39.l4, Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann., for discovery and inspection of the following items:
    I.
    Defendant moves the Court to order the District Attorney to produce and permit by the Defendant or Defendant's counsel the inspection of and the copying and/or photographing of the following:

1. Photographs of the injured party.

2. Names and addresses of the eyewitnesses to the incident.

3. Medical records evidencing the claimed injury to the child.

II.
    In support of this Motion, the Defendant would show that the items and information requested are within the exclusive control and custody of the State, the items are not privileged, and that, absent such discovery, the Defendant's rights under Art. 39.l4, Tex. Code Crim. Proc. Ann., Art. l, Sec. l0 of the Texas Constitution, and the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Amendments of the United States Constitution, will be violated.