laws broken

Status
Not open for further replies.

brokenlaw

I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV.

While there are not any charges currently pending, there is concern that there may be in the near future. With that in mind, I am hoping that some more versed in the area of cyber law can provide some best guesses as to what charges may appear.

For full background, I am providing the history up until this point.

A single person ("Walter Web") runs a company offering web site hosting ("WWhost"). "Walter Web" leases a single dedicated server to host the web sites. Walter is not a server administrator, and frequently employs the service of another company ("TechCo") to handle routine tasks on an as-needed basis. These services include applying security updates, rotating log files, etc. An employee of TechCo, "Ben", regularly performs the work for WWhost, as such, "Ben", has root access to the server.

TechCo subsequently goes out of business, and "Ben" moves on. Ben occasionally logs into the WWhost server. Ben rotates log files, applies security updates, shuffles personal backups to/from the WWhost server, and runs a few personal background processes.

After a few years, Bens new company moves him overseas. Ben creates several accounts on the WWhost server, so that persons back in the United States may login to the WWhost server via FTP, and send Ben large files. Due to the uncharacteristic traffic patterns, the datacenter hosting the WWhost server sends Walter an email notifying him that there is an unusual traffic pattern on his server. WWhost is well under it's allotted bandwidth, and is not being billed extra. It's simply a notice that there may be some suspicious activity. Walter logs into the WWhost server, and sees a number of files he does not recognize, all recently added.