Civil Service Employee harassing a contractor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gnosis337

I am a contractor, site supervisor, on a Government Installation. I have been for 6 years now, although I got into supervision about 3 years ago. About 1 year ago my company hired a young, attractive female to fill a position. A civil servant, male (never married), developed a friendship with this young lady (contractor). I believe he was loaning her money and not making her pay it back, buying her lunch and other things, etc. The civil servant is around 50 and the female was 26 at the time. She was not performing, turning in fake doctor's notes, not following company procedures, socializing for more than 4 hours a day (normally with the same civil servant that is now harassing me), spreading rumors, and causing problems among the rest of my team. Each time something would happen I would council the employee and she would follow the rules for a couple of weeks and then do the same thing again. I was working with my boss to get rid of this individual. She ended up applying for FMLA, which made it more difficult for us to get rid of her. Eventually she left (quit).

After her last day the before mentioned civil servant started harassing me. During a fare-well luncheon, in which she only invited certain people (friends she had lied to and convinced she was right (the perfect little angle) and had done nothing wrong). This civil servant made statements of how he fully intended to get rid of my company, on this contract. He also went further in stating that he would do anything he could to get me fired. Normally I would have just ignored a statement like this and gone about normal business, but this civil servant has been put in a position to directly influence this contract, just before the young female quit her job (about 3 months before she quit).