Foreign-earned income, paid in a diff. tax yr.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wgraham969

I'm a defense contractor, earning an hourly rate, who deployed to Iraq with the 101st Airborne Division in August, 2005, and returned to the states in August 2006, qualifying for IRS 2555 physical presence test for a portion of both tax years. I spent approximately six weeks in Kuwait before moving north into Iraq, and 10 days in the states in December 2005 and January 2006 because of a death in my wife's family.

During the early part of the deployment, there was a considerable fluctuation in my total pay each pay period, due to: difference in pay rates between U.S. and Southwest Asia; difference in per diem rate between Kuwait and Iraq; reduction in per diem after 30 days in-country; holiday pay premium; difference in hazardous duty pay between Kuwait and Iraq; and hourly pay differential in Iraq; incorrectly withholding for state income tax, and subsequently stopping the withholding and refunding the amount withheld. I received a pay statement (by e-mail) on or within a few days of my direct-deposit pay. When I received each statement, I verified the number of hours I had worked, my hourly pay rate, and hazardous duty pay percentage. I'm paid every two weeks, with a one-week lagtime between the close of a pay period and the pay-date for that two-week pay period. Also during this time, I worked 12-hour days, seven days/week, totaling 168 hours per pay period.